Chakras and Massage

Understanding Chakras and Massage

Understanding Chakras and Massage

Chakras are markers for the main points of focus in our body’s energy flow system. Understanding chakras is an important part of understanding holistic healing treatments such as massage due to their influence over the mind and the body.

From the crown of the head to the root of the spine there is an energy system that flows through the body, this energy flow plays an integral role in an individual’s emotional and physical balance. The system is built from 7 main chakras that pinpoint specific energy focal points throughout the body. Each individual chakra influences integral parts of different bodily functions with direct links to a person’s major organs and glands, when these points are in complete alignment, the body and mind feel lighter, more focused and able to maintain stronger emotional stability.

Massage, amongst other techniques and daily practices, is an effective method used by many gay massage therapists to align a client’s chakras.

The key is to ensure that each chakra is open and cleared of any energy blockages. Through drawing the energy from the base of the spine, then pushing energy up the body, the energy is worked to rectify, open and clear any energy blockages a person may be carrying. This process is intended to leave the client feeling lighter in spirit.

What you need to know about the Seven main chakras –

Base Chakra (also known as the root chakra) – Muladhara

The Root chakra’s original name is ‘muladhara’. Located at the base of the spine, it is the ‘root’, or the foundation for the entire energy system to function from. It connects to our basic human needs for survival.

Located at the bottom of the spine, the root chakra is the closest to the earth, making it a focal point for keeping grounded as well as stabilizing the earths energy. It also refers to the basic needs of a human, often connected to sexuality and fertility. The health of this chakra will have a direct impact on the physical sexuality of a person, their mental stability, their sensuality and how spiritually secure they feel.

Each chakra is associated with a colour, an element, a bodily sense and an endocrine gland. The colour associated with the base chakra is red, its element is the earth and its sense is smell.

Sacral chakra – Suadhestara

The Sacral, or the pleasure centre was traditionally names svadhisthana, which means ‘sweetness’. This is the centre for us to harness the energy of exploring our five senses. Once our basic needs are met, we are able to branch out and explore these senses, giving depth and pleasure to our existence.

The sacral chakra is found at in the upper sacrum, underneath the belly button. This chakra is referred to by many as the centre point of self-expression and joy. It is a driving force of impulsiveness, its key issues are surrounding the subjects of relationships, violence and addiction. The health of this chakra will impact a person’s reproductivity, their creativity, joy and enthusiasm.

The colour association for this chakra is orange, its element is water and its sense is taste.

Chakras and Massage

Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipur

The Solar Plexus, also known as manipura, which translates to ‘Lustrous Gem’ signifies our identity and our goals for our lives. If your behaviours and physical choices do not align with the intentions, you have for the direction of your life you may feel pressure in your gut. If intention and behaviour are aligned, then one is able to feel a stronger sense of identity. digestion – the power centre

The location of the Solar Plexus is between the sternum and the navel. The three major chakras that are situated below the heart are related to physical bodily experiences and all that we engage with via the use of our senses. The chakras above the heart refer to emotional and spiritual markers of existence. The Solar plexus is the last chakra located beneath the heart, meaning its drivers are concerned with the body. Having said this, its key issues are power, fear, anxiety and introversion. It powers digestion and a strong Solar Plexus chakra with inspire growth in a person.

Its colour association is yellow, its element is fire and its sense is sight.

Heart Chakra – Anhata

The Heart chakras traditional name is anahata which means “the sound which issues without the striking of any two things together.” This chakra is located at the center of the chest and relates to overall wellbeing and emotions that are typically associated with the heart e.g. love, compassion, empathy.

The heart chakra is found exactly where you might expect, In the center of the chest. The key issues that are linked to the heart chakra are passion, tenderness, rejection and the issues of our inner children. Its strength promotes feelings of unconditional love and compassion, passion and spiritual devotion. Not only this but it is also said that a healthy heart chakra improves bodily circulation.

Its colour of influences is pink, as well as green. Its element is air and its sense is touch.

Throat Chakra – Vishuddha

The Throat chakra is traditionally named visuddha, which translated means ‘free from impurities.’ This is our center for communication and expressing ourselves verbally. Effective communication through both life and massage is important for the unblocking of the throat chakra.

The throat chakra is located in the throat area of the body. It is considered a vital link from the heat to the higher chakras in the raising of consciousness. The key issues that the throat chakra deals with are related to self-expression, communication and will. The health of this chakra will have a positive effect on the communicative aspects of life, resulting in the promotion of emotional independence and spiritual security

The throat chakras colour association is turquoise, its element is ether and its sense is hearing.

Third Eye Chakra – Ajna

The Third Eye is located at the space between one’s eyebrows, the authentic name for this chakra is Ajna, which means ‘communication from above.’ This chakra influences imagination and perception. The ability to understand communication that is not verbally spoken is connected to the energy of this chakra, as well as letting go of thoughts that restrict imagination.

As this chakra is located in the centre of the brow, it is all about being able to trust instincts and following inner guidance. Its key issue is balancing the higher or lower self. The strength of this chakra will instigate strong intuition, clarity and will make the process of meditation easier.

Its colour of influence is deep blue or white, its element is the spirit and is sense is extra sensory perception.

Crown Chakra – Sahasrara

The Crown centre’s original name is the sahasrara, which translates to ‘thousand petaled’. This is the seventh and final chakra in the alignment and it is connected to wisdom and enlightenment. The crown laces life with purpose and answers ‘what’ questions with ‘why’ answers. It is through the crown chakra that a person is able to connect to higher powers of joy within the universe, evoking peace within the mind and body.

this chakra pure consciousness and balance. It focuses on a purer experience, its key issues surrounding inner wisdom and the leaving behind of the body. The strength of this chakra promotes a healthy central nervous system and brain function. It is said to be a releaser of karmic energies, as well as promoting meditation. Its health activates universal consciousness and unity through transcendental consciousness.

The crown chakras colour association is violet, its element is spirit, and it has connection to all of the senses.

If you are looking for an epic gay male to male massage in Manchester, London or Gran Canaria the have a look here

Similar Posts